The Institute for Economic Research on Innovation (IERI) is a research facility of the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT). IERI operates as a full academic Department of the Faculty. The full-time academic personnel of IERI are employees of TUT, a Public Higher Education Institution established by statute in South Africa.

As a networked competency, IERI's total staff capacity comprises a small core of full-time academics and administrators who work with a formal network of selected research associates. The research associates of IERI are organized in categories that reflect the status accorded to them by TUT. The capabilities of all members of the IERI collective are reflected in their range of experience, academic qualifications and developmental orientation.

Full-time staff

Senior Lecturer
+27 (0)12 382 3074
Chief Director
+27 (0)12 382 3076
Founding Chairholder of the UNESCO Chair in African Integration and Innovation
+27 (0)82 333 7521
Senior Administrator
+27 (0)12 382 3077

Professors Extraordinaire

Professors Extraordinaire are formally granted this status by the Council of TUT and work on the teaching, learning, research and community engagement activities of IERI. The following people were accorded this status:

Name Term of Appointment
Hans Binswanger-Mkhize 2007 - 2010
Amitav Rath 2008 - 2011
Michael Kahn 2008 - 2011
Susan Cozzens 2008 - 2011
Fred Gault 2009 - 2017
Claes Brundenius 2013 - 2017

Associate Research Fellows

IERI and the Faculty of Economics and Finance has bestowed the status of Research Associates upon a selected group of academic scholars and activists. Research Associates of IERI work on specific projects, develop wider learning programmes, and actively engaged in expanding the knowledge boundaries of the fields of political economy, science, technology and innovation studies.

Name Appointment Year
Marcia da Mota Daros 2004
Rajen Govender 2005
Enver Motala 2005
Erika Kraemer-Mbula 2006
Temba Masilela 2007 & supported by a MoU with the HSRC
Mammo Muchie 2007 & SARChI (2008 - 2013)
Frank Teng-Zeng 2008
Wangeci Karuri-Sebina 2008 - 2017
Sanya Osha 2009 & SARChI Research Fellow
Anga Baskaran (Bas)

2010 & SARChI Senior Research Fellow

Shawn Cunningham 2010 & 2015 - 2017
Thomas Pogue 2010 - 2017
Na-Allah Abdelrasaq Al-Suyuti 2011
Radhika Perrot 2011
Burcu Kiliç 2011
Kamoji Wachiira 2011
Astrid Szogs 2011
Opeyemi Eyitayo Ayinde 2012
Reinhart Kössler 2012
Kimani Nehusi 2012
H.C. Bok Marais 2015 - 2017
Michelle Pressend 2015 - 2017
Alioune Sall 2015 - 2017
Alina Segobye 2015 - 2017

Riaz Tayob

2015 - 2017

Visiting Scholars

IERI also provides research accommodation to international scholars. Since its launch, IERI has hosted the following Visiting Scholars. Visiting Scholars have helped in developing the research agenda of IERI, contributed to research outputs and helped build institutional networks, collaboration and partnerships.

Name Affiliation Status
Meheret Ayenew Visiting Professor (University of Addis Ababa) 2004-2005
Dave de Groot Visiting Researcher (World Bank Institute) 2006
Prasada Reddy Visiting Professor (University of Oslo) 2007
Bruno Dallago Erasmus Mundus Scholar (Università di Trento) 2007, 2008, 2009
Italo Trevisan Erasmus Mundus Scholar (Università di Trento) 2007, 2008, 2009
Lassi Linnanen Visiting Professor (Helsinki University of Technology) 2008
Peter Futo Erasmus Mundus Scholar (Corvinus University) 2009
Andreas Stamm Visiting Researcher (German Development Institute) 2009
Claes Brundenius Visiting Professor (Lund University) 2009, 2010, 2011
Oscar Fernandez Visiting Professor (University of Havana) 2011
Ricardo Perez Visiting Researcher (Centre for the Study of the Cuban Economy) 2011
Richard Mungla Visiting Professor (St. Thomas University) 2012

Interns and Temporary Appointments

Name Affiliation Status
Joshua Koopedi Public Sector Finance (TUT) 2004
Nontando Qomoyi Public Sector Finance (TUT) 2004
Siyabonya Kohli Public Sector Finance (TUT) 2004
Beveley Brown
Project Manager: GLOBELICS Annual Conference
Beverley Anne Barry
APRM Facilitation and Reporting
Collins Makhado APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
David Dickens APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Fasiegha Arendse APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Fuad Waggie APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Hlengiwe Sehlapelo APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Jill Wellbeloved APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Shamima Vawda APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Thumida Maistry APRM Facilitation and Reporting 2006
Sylvia Mabitsela BTech (TUT) 2007
Jordan Lelethu BTech (TUT) 2007
Wang Lei BTech (TUT) 2007
Morobane Lebakeng BTech (TUT) 2007
Manuel Victoriano BTech (TUT) 2007
Vassil Genchev Erasmus Mundus 2008
Salomon Theinert SAMP 2009